From time to time, the WMSSA awards individuals and groups for notable contribution to weed management in South Australia.

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Weed Management in South Australia

This award is presented to an individual or group who have made a significant contribution to the science, technology and/or practice of weed management in the fields of research, teaching, administration, extension and/or implementation of weed control programs. The recipient will have made an impact on the work of others.

Previous winners:

2011 – TBA
2010 – John Virtue
2009 – no award
2008 – Andrew Allanson
2007 – no award
2006 – Chris Preston
2005 – Martin Weidenbach and Lorraine Edmunds
2004 – no award
2003 – Ron Taylor
2002 – no award
2001 – Pat and Peter Clark
2000 – David Clifford
1999 – John Heap
1998 – Enid Robertson

CAWS Travel Awards

The Society supports the Council of Australasian Weed Societies (CAWS) Travel Awards for Students and for Early Career Weed Scientists.  The awards are provided to support attendance at national or international conferences or for specific overseas study tours of a short duration.

The Student Travel Award is for a value of $3000 p.a. and is available to undergraduate, Master, PhD or other postgraduate students, or those who have completed their studies in the previous twelve months at the date of application.

The Early Career Travel Award is available for those who have completed their studies less recently.

Visit the CAWS website for more information and to download an application form:

CAWS Student Travel Award
CAWS Early Career Weed Scientist Travel Award